Saltar para: Post [1], Pesquisa e Arquivos [2]

Sounds & Flavours

Hi! I’m a Lisbon based guy with a craving for great songs and amazing food! Here, I’ll show you songs you should know, review restaurants and bars and explore a lot of cool recipes you can try at home! Click to subscribe

About this project: Sounds & Flavours

19.02.19 | Sounds & Flavours

51117072_2179754735623649_3837263684284937159_n

Many people have asked me how the idea for this project came about and why I think it's relevant to associate food and music.

As someone who enjoys music from a very young age, it's impossible to imagine my day to day life without any kind of sound stimulus. Like reading, listening to music has become a piece of what I am today, allowing me to broaden my horizons, both culturally and personally. In a social aspect, I seem to fit better into groups of friends where we share the same musical tastes or we have conversations about music.
So it was perfectly normal for me to have a project related to this kind of art.

On the other hand, in recent years I have had the perception that food has gained an increasingly interesting role in my life. If I was not a big fan of eating when I was younger, and my parents made me sit down at the table for lunch, I now feel like going to new restaurants and experiencing new flavors. It's always a pleasure to go to a place where I can eat something completely innovative or delicious. This experience is remarkable. For example, I recently tried oysters for the first time. I did not know what to expect. It was wonderful and I was salivating for more.

I have also noticed that more and more restaurants are giving attention to details that they not previously give, such as smell and of course, to music.
Some of these details are part of marketing strategies designed to create customer loyalty through sensations. As I began to look for more information on the subject, I discovered that there were scientific studies that proved that certain sounds directly influenced the flavors we tasted.

From this perspective, I tried to create a project that would allow readers - and me too - to explore these two cultural dimensions easily and interestingly. I also began to apply these concepts at home. For example, whenever I cook a particular dish, I create a playlist that I think fits with what I'm cooking, or when I'm having dinner with friends, depending on the people and the flavors that will be on the table, I think of songs that can help you explore each sensation by bringing the fork to your mouth.

To get an idea of ​​what I say, I advise you to read this article from The Guardian where the connection between food and music deepens, evidencing that there is a universe still virgin on this theme: https://www.theguardian.com/…/music-make-food-drink-taste-b…

Tell me what you think about it!